CECWA and Committees

CECWA and Sub-Committees

CECWA and Committees

The key bodies involved with the governance of the CEWA system are the CECWA and its committees, who have overall responsibility for the strategic direction and effective management of the CEWA system.

CECWA comprises up to 12 members who are appointed by the Bishops of Western Australia.

Commission members are appointed based on relevant skills and experience, and serve a three-year term, with eligibility for re-appointment for a second term.

CECWA responsibilities include:

  • Providing leadership for the betterment and quality of Catholic education in Western Australia
  • Directing the development of learning communities which fulfil the goals of Catholic schools as outlined in the Bishops’ Mandate letter
  • Developing, promulgating and evaluating Catholic school policy and programs
  • Providing governance and holding responsibility of Catholic schools and fulfilling its obligations under the School Education Act

Catholic Education Commission of Western Australia (CECWA)

Bishop Gerard J Holohan – Chair
Bishop Michael Morrissey - Commissioner
Dr Graeme Gower – Chair: Aboriginal Community Committee
Mr Wojciech Grzech – Chair: Audit and Risk Committee
Ms Mary Woodford – Chair: Catholic Education Community Committee
Professor Joan Squelch – Chair: Curriculum Committee
Professor Glennda Scully – Chair: Finance Committee
Dr Debra Sayce – Executive Director CEWA
Dr Edward Simons – Company Secretary



CECWA has five committees convened to assist in the governance work of CECWA.

The Standing Orders for Sub-Committees of the Catholic Education Committees of Western Australia contain information relevant to all committees.

Aboriginal Community

Chair: Dr Graeme Gower

Brings an Aboriginal perspective to the work of CEWA, providing access to quality education for Aboriginal children and young people, and promoting Aboriginal participation, inclusivity and mutual understanding in the wider community.

Audit and Risk

Chair: Mr Wojciech Grzech

Oversees and mitigates risk and ensures the compliance and sustainability of CEWA.

Catholic Education Community

Chair: Ms Mary Woodford

Oversees the sustainability of CEWA by monitoring and evaluating the key factors that define it, especially the development of its people and faith communities. Ensures the system’s ability to sustain and deliver a strong Catholic identity whilst achieving goals of sustainability, accessibility, affordability and diversity.


Chair: Professor Joan Squelch

Ensures a Catholic vision of the human person underpins processes and priorities within the CEWA system. Ensures curriculum of CEWA schools supports education of the whole person, integrating faith, life and culture.


Chair: Professor Glennda Scully

Ensures the financial sustainability of the CEWA system. Monitors the system’s finances and provides guidance on areas including strategy development and sustainability, debt policies and processes, reporting and budgets.