Mel Maria Catholic Primary School


Mel Maria was established in 1973 by the rationalisation of:

St Joseph Pignatelli Catholic Primary School, Attadale, Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School, Myaree, Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Primary School, Willagee and the Primary School of Santa Maria.

All of these schools existed separately in their own right, however because of their size and their limited resources they struggled from an educational perspective to meet curriculum requirements.

Following a series of meetings in 1972 involving the community of each of the schools it was decided to amalgamate all the schools and Mel Maria came into being.

Mel Maria today is a tribute to the wisdom and the foresight of the then Principal of Corpus Christi, Myaree – Sr. Joan Smith. Though she never worked as such at Mel Maria she will always be remembered for her work in sowing the seeds from which Mel Maria has grown and blossoms today.

Archdiocese of Perth

Contact Details

33 Davidson Road
Attadale WA 6156

6330 0500

9330 1560